Lawyer Representatives to the Ninth Circuit Judicial Conference
for the
United States District Court for Eastern District of California

All circuit, district, bankruptcy and magistrate judges, along with lawyer representatives, attend the annual meeting of the circuit-wide judicial conference that is convened pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §333. A 20-member executive committee supervises the conduct of the conference and sets the program theme. This annual conference is the culmination of a year-long dialogue among all segments of the federal bench and bar. Its purpose is to consider the business of the courts and to advise means to improve administration of justice within the circuit. These conferences serve as a vehicle for improved education and communication between the bench and bar, among districts, and between the court of appeals and the district courts within the circuit.

Role of Lawyer Representatives

In each judicial district, the judges and the bar organizations select a number of lawyers to serve as lawyer representatives to the annual Ninth Circuit Judicial Conference. These lawyers, who represent the federal bar, meet throughout the year with the judges from their districts to discuss matters of mutual concern. The lawyer representatives also meet separately to work on projects -- such as rule changes, alternative dispute resolution, or education programs -- designed to aid the courts to improve the administration of justice in their districts.

Current Members

Avalon Johnson Fitzgerald (Expires 12/31/2020 – GO 584) (Chair 2020 EDCA Conference)
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP
400 Capitol Mall, Suite 3000
Sacramento, CA  95814
Phone: (916) 329-7930
Fax: (916) 449-1440
Email: afitzgerald@orrick.com

Alex Nowinski (Expires 12/31/2020 – GO 584)
Hardy Erich Brown & Wilson
455 Capitol Mall, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA  95814
Phone:  (916) 449-3800
Email:  anowinski@hebw.com

Megan Sammut (Expires 12/31/2021 – GO 593)
United States District Court
Eastern District of California
501 I Street, 15th Floor
Sacramento, CA  95814
Phone:  (916) 930-4706
Email:  msammut@caed.uscourts.gov

Gabriel Waddell (Expires 12/31/2021 – GO 604)
Law Offices of Peter L. Fear
7750 North Fresno Street, Suite 101
Fresno, CA  93720
Phone:  (559) 436-6575
Email:  gwaddell@fearlaw.com

Brande Gustafson  (Expires 12/31/2021 – GO 598) (Chair 2021 Conference)
Weakley & Arendt, PC
5200 N. Palm Avenue, Suite 211
Fresno, CA  93704
Phone:  (559) 221-5256
Email:  brande@walaw-fresno.com

Donna Parkinson (Expires December 31, 2022 – GO 605)
Parkinson Phinney
400 Capitol Mall, Suite 2560
Sacramento, CA  95618
Phone:  (916) 449-1441
Email:  donna@parkinsonphinney.com

Jerome Price (Expires December 31, 2022 – GO 605)
Office of the Federal Defender
801 I Street, 3rd Floor
Sacramento, CA  95814
Phone:  (916) 498-5700
Email:  Jerome_Price@fd.org

Jacob Eaton (Expires December 31, 2022 – GO 605)
Klein DeNatale Goldner Cooper Rosenlieb and Kimball
4550 California Avenue, 2nd Floor
Bakersfield, CA  93309
Phone:  (661) 395-1000
Email:  jeaton@kleinlaw.com

Thomas Phinney (Expired 12/31/2019 – GO 599 – Chair 2019 Conference)
Parkinson Phinney
400 Capitol Mall, Suite 2560
Sacramento, CA  95618
Phone:  (916) 449-1444
Email:  Tom@parkinsonphinney.com