2014 Federal Holidays


Wednesday, January 1                 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 20                      Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday, February 17*                   Washington’s Birthday
Monday, May 26                             Memorial Day
Friday, July 4                                  Independence Day
Monday, September 1                  Labor Day
Monday, October 13                      Columbus Day
Tuesday, November 11                Veterans Day
Thursday, November 27              Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 28**                 Day After Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, December 25              Christmas Day
Friday, December 26***               Day After Christmas Day
Thursday, January 1                     New Year’s Day
Friday, January 2***                      Day After New Year’s Day
 

 

* This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

** Rules 77 (c) and 6 (a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as they relate to Title 2 section 19853 (a) of the California Government Code and §§ 10 & 134-135 of the California Code of Civil Procedure.

*** By Order of the Chief Judge.