2016 Federal Holidays

Friday, January 1                             New Year’s Day
Monday, January 18                        Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday, February 15*                     Washington’s Birthday
Monday, May 30                              Memorial Day
Monday, July 4                                 Independence Day
Monday, September 5                     Labor Day
Monday, October 10                        Columbus Day
Friday, November 11                       Veterans Day
Thursday, November 24                  Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 25**                    Day after Thanksgiving
Monday, December 26                    Christmas Day

2017 Federal Holidays

Monday, January 2                          New Year’s Day
Monday, January 16                        Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday, February 20*                     Washington’s Birthday
Monday, May 29                              Memorial Day
Tuesday, July 4                               Independence Day
Monday, September 4                     Labor Day
Monday, October 9                         Columbus Day
Friday, November 10                      Veterans Day
Thursday, November 23                 Thanksgiving Day
Monday, December 25                   Christmas Day

* This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.


** Rules 77 (c) and 6 (a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as they relate to Title 2 section 19853 (a) of the California Government Code and §§ 10 & 134-135 of the California Code of Civil Procedure.


*** By Order of the Chief Judge.